The Unites States played a pivotal role in Vietnam’s civil war in an effort to contain communism. To help you learn about the Vietnam War we will be doing some activities throughout the unit that will build to one final Project Based Learning event.
Last Updated: Oct 26, 2015
- Vietnam Veterans Memorial-The Wall USA
The Vietnam Veterans Memorial Wall USA website is dedicated to honoring those who died in the Vietnam War.
Search the wall.
- The Wall of Faces
The Faces Never Forgotten program is an effort to put a face and a story to each name on The Wall.
- Persons from North Dakota who died in the Vietnam War
This index is based on each casualty's Official Home of Record. The official home of record may or may not be that person's birthplace or home town. It may be the place the person entered military service, typically a nearby large city. If you don't find the name where you expect, please also look under nearby cities or see the index pages by last name.
- Vietnam Veterans Memorial-NorthDakota
Here you will find the names of many North Dakota Vietnam Veterans on the memorial wall.
- U.S. Military Fatal Casualties of the Vietnam War for Home-State-of-Record: North Dakota
- Find A Grave
Search link: 121 million grave records
- U. S. Military Deaths Archive
This site contains 135,883 records of U.S. military officers and soldiers who died as a result of either a hostile or non-hostile occurrence in the Korean War, Vietnam War, Gulf War, or War on Terrorism. These include the records of persons who were missing in action or prisoners of war in either the Korean War or the Vietnam War.
- U.S. of America Vietnam War Commemoration
On this website you will find fact sheets, maps, primary sources, posters, interactive timeline, videos, photos, etc.
- Experiencing War-Vietnam War-Stories from the Veterans History Project
Fifty years after the fact, the Vietnam War remains part of our collective national consciousness. For the veterans who served during this era, this conflict has particular meaning. Each of these veterans experienced the war in a unique, individual way; no two stories are the same
- OFFERINGS / ARTIFACTS Left at the Wall @ the Vietnam War Veterans Memorial / Washington DC
Photos of items left at the wall
- The things they left behind By Ariel Min November 11, 2013
Article from PBS Newshour/The Rundown on articles left behind at the Vietnam Veterans Memorial in Washington, D.C
- The Things They Leave Behind By Rachel Manteuffel Photographs By Jeff Elkins
When the Vietnam Veterans Memorial opened 30 years ago this month, something unexpected happened: People started leaving things at the wall. One veteran has spent decades cataloging the letters, mementos, and other artifacts of loss—all 300,000 of them.
From Washingtonian November 2012
- Vietnam War Internet Links
Recollections & Photos
- National Archives:Military Resrouces: Vietnam War
- Virtual Vietnam Archive
The Virtual Vietnam Archive currently contains over 4 million pages of scanned materials.
Types of material include documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids. All non-copyrighted and digitized materials are available for users to download.
- CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- American Experience: Vietnam Online
An online companion to Vietnam: A Television History
- PBS Battlefield Vietnam
Includes: a brief history . battlefield · timeline · guerrilla tactics · air war · siege of khe sahn . web resources
- Vietnam War 101
An overview of the conflict
- Vietnam War Pictures
The Vietnam War (1959-1975) was bloody, dirty, and very unpopular. In Vietnam, U.S. soldiers found themselves fighting against an enemy they rarely saw, in a jungle they couldn't master, for a cause they barely understood. These pictures offer a brief glimpse into life during the Vietnam War.
- Gulf of Tonkin Resolution (History Channel)
The Gulf of Tonkin Resolution (August 7, 1964) gave broad congressional approval for expansion of the Vietnam War.
- Tonkin Gulf Resolution (1964)
Copy of actual document
- Vietnam War - The Jungle War 1965-1968 Timeline
- Paris Peace Talks (American Experience: Return With Honor)
click on a country to enter Culture Grams
Tip:results will give you three tabs: General, Literature, History - make sure to view items under all three tabs for best results!
- Ancestry Library Edition
To access Ancestry Library outside of Bismarck High School, you will have to access the ODIN Database Alphabetical List from the High School Research Database Links. You will then click on the Ancestry Library Edition link to search Ancestry Library. Reminder: Usernames and Passwords are located on the Database Password Sheet ("The Pink Sheet").