This is the "Home" page of the "Vukelic Child Development and Parenting Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Vukelic Child Development and Parenting Resources   Tags: child development, facs child development, flour babies, parenting, vukelic  

The resources included in this guide are the only resources approved for use when completing projects for any of Mrs. Vukelics Child Development and Parenting classes.
Last Updated: Jan 12, 2015 URL: http://bhs.bismarckschools.libguides.com/content.php?pid=473099 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Web Sites

  • Lucile Packard Children's Hospital at Stanford-Normal Newborn
    A newborn baby brings many joys as well as many questions. Along with the happiness parents feel with the birth of their child, they often have concerns about his or her health and how to properly care for their child.
  • Lucile Packard Children's Hospital at Stanford-Pregnancy & Childbirth
    More than four million babies will be born in the US this year alone. Now more than ever, mothers-to-be have access to current information, advanced technologies, and skilled medical personnel to help them plan for a healthy pregnancy and childbirth.
  • Lucile Packard Children's Hospital at Stanford-Common Childhood Injuries and Poisonings
    Children's work is their play - and play includes many fun types of activities that also put them at risk for injury, such as running, climbing, swimming, biking, and sports. Minor accidents and injuries are part of childhood and growing up. For parents and caregivers, knowing what to do when minor injuries occur is an important part of caring for a child.
  • Harvard Health Publications-Harvard Medical School  
      
    Harvard Health Publications is the media and publishing division of the Harvard Medical School of Harvard University. The goal of our publications is to bring people around the world the most current health information that is authoritative, trustworthy, and accessible, drawing on the expertise of the 10,000+ faculty physicians at Harvard Medical School.
  • CDC Child Development
    The early years of a child's life are very important for his or her health and development. Parents, health professionals, educators, and others can work together as partners to help children grow up to reach their full potential.
  • Child & Family Webguide-Tufts University
    Expert Reviewed Sites On Children and Families.
    The WebGuide is a directory that evaluates, describes and provides links to hundreds of sites containing child development research and practical advice. Topics are selected on the basis of parent recommendations; they cover all ages, from early child development through adolescence.
  • NIH MedlinePlus  
      
    MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
  • Womenshelath.gov  
      
    A project of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office on Women's Health
  • Mayo Clinic Diseases and Conditions  
      
    Comprehensive guides on hundreds of conditions.
  • Healthfinder.gov
    When making decisions about your health, it’s important to know where to go to get the latest, most reliable information. healthfinder.gov has resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations to bring you the best, most reliable health information on the Internet.
  • Social Security Administration Popular Baby Names
    Popular baby names.
  • Babynames.com
    Everything you wanted to know about baby names.
  • BabyZone  
      
    Everything you wanted to know about pregnancy, childbirth and your newborn. Courtesy of Disney.
  • Consumer Product Safety Commission
    Look for brochures on product safety, guidelines for purchasing items like cribs and strollers and product recall information.
  • Johns Hopkins Health Library
    Guide to the diagnosis, treatment and prevention of conditions from A to Z.
  • March of Dimes
    We help moms have full-term pregnancies and healthy babies. If something goes wrong, we offer information and comfort to families. We research the problems that threaten our babies and work on preventing them.
  • Kidshealth.org parents homepage  
      
    KidsHealth is the #1 most-visited website for children's health and development. You're now in the Parents area. At the bottom of each article, you'll find links to related features created for kids and teens.
  • InteliHealth/Children's Health
    Guiding and keeping your child healthy.
  • Parenting
    Pregnancy, babies, common pediatric conditions and more. Breaks down symptoms and helps you know when your child needs to see a doctor.
  • NDHealth.gov baby and new mother fact sheets  
      
    Baby and new mother fact sheets on numerous issues such as SIDS, thrush, etc.
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention  
      
    From the food you eat, to the air you breathe, to staying safe wherever you are, CDC′s mission touches all aspects of daily life. CDC researchers, scientists, doctors, nurses, economists, communicators, educators, technologists, epidemiologists and many other professionals all contribute their expertise to improving public health.
  • Babycenter.com-Pregnancy
    Welcome to pregnancy! This is the start of an incredible journey. To help you along, we offer info on pregnancy symptoms, weight gain and nutrition, what's safe during pregnancy and what's not, pregnancy stages, labor and delivery, and more -- plus how to sift through all those baby names to find the perfect one.
  • Johnson's Baby Bathtime Learning Center
    Bathing baby.
  • Johnson's Baby Care Library
    Baby articles & resources.
  • Pampers Diapers, Baby Care, and Parenting Information
    You'll hear a lot of different advice about motherhood. In the end, no one knows your baby like you do. Trust your instincts. And remember what really matters to your
    baby is love, sleep and play.
  • North Dakota Department of Health: Parenting the First Year Magazine
    Parenting the First Year offers suggestions and resources that will help you learn as your baby grows.
  • North Dakota Department of Health: Pregnancy Fact Sheets
    The Optimal Pregnancy Outcome Program is a primary prevention program designed to empower pregnant women to make informed, healthy lifestyle choices to ensure that they give birth to healthy babies.
  • North Dakota Department of Health: Family Health
    The Division of Family Health administers state and federal programs designed to improve the health of North Dakota families. The division provides funding, technical assistance, training, needs assessment, educational materials and other resources to local public health units, schools and other public and private entities that offer health services in North Dakota communities.
  • North Dakota Century Code
    The North Dakota Century Code on this website contain currently effective laws of North Dakota. The North Dakota Century Code is the codification of general and permanent law.
  • Mayo Clinic Healthy Lifestyles
    Includes life stages on pregnancy, infant, toddler and children's health.
  • Child Care Aware of North Dakota
    A program of Lutheran Social Services in western North Dakota and Lakes & Prairies Community Action Partnership in eastern North Dakota

Approved Web Sites for Current Events Articles

  • TODAY Moms - Parenting & Baby News and Advice
    NBC News TODAY Show's feature website for finding the latest parenting news and advice from experts.
  • Baby Center
    BabyCenter is the world's partner in parenting, providing moms with trusted advice from experts around the globe, friendship with other moms, and support that is remarkably right at every stage of their child's development. We understand that every family is different, and we give parents the information they need to make decisions that are right for them. Our goal is to help parents gain confidence, enjoy parenting more, and let go of some of the guilt and worry that comes with raising a child.
  • NBC News and Information About Kid's Health
  • ScienceDaily: Child Development
    Your source for the latest research news.
  • CNN - Living - Parents

Content Specific Articles

  • Orphans' Lonely Beginnings Reveal How Parents Shape A Child's Brain
    Izidor Ruckel lived in a Romanian orphanage where children were neglected. Scientists say that lack of attention can damage a child's brain. But Ruckel thinks his adoptive parents' love saved him.
  • Speaking to babies in long sentences boosts language development
    If you want your kids to learn to talk in the best possible way, a new study suggests you should ditch the baby talk and speak to them in normal sentences.
  • DVDs for toddlers poorly designed: study
    Thinking of buying your toddler an "educational" DVD for the holidays, or gifting one to a friend's preschooler? If you're buying them for educational value, you might want to reconsider.
  • New Test for Down Syndrome Raises Hopes and Questions
    New tests are coming to market that can detect Down syndrome in a fetus using a sample of the mother’s blood, potentially reducing the need for riskier invasive tests, but also raising a host of ethical issues.
  • Discipline Quiz
    Parenting Quiz: Discipline Dos and Don’ts from WebMD
  • Managing Frustrating Behaviors
    Toddlers may throw fits, act selfishly, and rarely mind. This behavior often develops out of frustration from not being able to communicate, master skills, and be as independent as they want to be. Assertiveness and irritability are normal behaviors for toddlers.
  • Parenting Styles: Learn to Agree
    You give your kids what they want for dinner, but your spouse tells them they have to eat what the adults are eating. You don’t want your kids playing with toy guns, but their other parent wants to lead the charge in a big game of cops and robbers. Do you wonder about the mixed messages you’re sending your kids?
  • Head Lice 101
    Head Lice Slideshow from WebMD: Dealing with head lice is almost a parenting rite of passage. Here’s how to get rid of them with minimal hassle.

Video Links

 

Information on Searching Card Catalog and Databases

When searching the card catalog use topic chosen for project or check in Reference encyclopedia type books for short term explanations to get your project started.

When using the databases make sure to put a checkmark in the Full Text box on the home search page and on the Advanced Search page checkmark to search Journals or peer-reviewed publications only as Mrs. Vukelic does not want information from general periodicals such as; Parents, Parenting, Working Mother, Good Housekeeping, Redbook, Parent & Child, Health, Fitness, Pregnancy, Fit Pregnancy, etc. If you are not sure about a source check with her before you find all your resources.

 

Follett Destiny Search box widget

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search
 

General Science Collection

 

EBSCO Health Databases

Health Databases
Limit Your Results
 

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip